The Inspiration of the Starfish Story

Hi there, Happy Sabbath!

It’s been a long time right? Life sure does have it’s distractions I must say. But never must I neglect my calling, which is to share, testify and help others. I just wanted to share a story with you that I think you’ve probably heard before. If not, then get ready for the inspiration of the starfish story for your life if you’re wondering what’s your purpose.

“Once upon a time, there was an old man who used to go to the ocean to do his writing. He had a habit of walking on the beach every morning before he began his work. Early one morning, he was walking along the shore after a big storm had passed and found the vast beach littered with starfish as far as the eye could see, stretching in both directions.

Off in the distance, the old man noticed a small boy approaching.  As the boy walked, he paused every so often and as he grew closer, the man could see that he was occasionally bending down to pick up an object and throw it into the sea.  The boy came closer still and the man called out, “Good morning!  May I ask what it is that you are doing?”

The young boy paused, looked up, and replied “Throwing starfish into the ocean. The tide has washed them up onto the beach and they can’t return to the sea by themselves,” the youth replied. “When the sun gets high, they will die, unless I throw them back into the water.”

starfish-3

The old man replied, “But there must be tens of thousands of starfish on this beach. I’m afraid you won’t really be able to make much of a difference.”

The boy bent down, picked up yet another starfish and threw it as far as he could into the ocean. Then he turned, smiled and said, “It made a difference to that one!”

We all have the opportunity to help create positive change, but if you’re like me, you sometimes find yourself thinking, “I’m already really busy, and how much of a difference can I really make?”  I think this is especially true when we’re talking about addressing massive social problems like tackling world hunger or finding a cure for cancer, but it pops up all of the time in our everyday lives, as well. So when I catch myself thinking that way, it helps to remember this story.  You might not be able to change the entire world, but at least you can change a small part of it, for someone.

They say that one of the most common reasons we procrastinate is because we see the challenge before us as overwhelming, and that a good way to counter that is to break the big challenge down into smaller pieces and then take those one at a time–like one starfish at a time.  And to that one starfish, it can make a world of difference”.

https://eventsforchange.wordpress.com/2011/06/05/the-starfish-story-one-step-towards-changing-the-world/

So here’s what I’ve been up to lately; My ministry has expanded to placing people in jobs no matter how small and creating employment for those who need it. So many times, I’ve heard about the unemployment rate and how Saint Lucia ranks in the top 50 for the highest unemployment rate in the world. There are so many people without jobs and losing jobs and that is their foundation for daily living. You take away a man or woman’s income, you take away everything that helps to shape their daily life. From that moment on, life will never be the same.

My experience with working with an online call center, revealed an opportunity for some difference to be made for many people. The Lord was leading me through situations and circumstances to teach me, and to show me how these people could be reached. The ultimate goal is to spread the Gospel and to let people know what God is and who He is and what’s waiting for them when this earth comes to an end. But before you can preach to someone who’s without a job and without an income, you first need to minister to that person’s need, which is a job…work. So here is an opportunity to introduce the Lord, to these people who are not aware of the miracle awaiting them, after this life is over.

It gives me such joy to help people and to know that what I do is bringing them joy. But most of all, nothing I do is for me, nothing I do is for profit, nothing I do is gain.

“Lean not unto your own understanding, in all your ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct your path”.

Thank you Lord Jesus for making a way for those persons who have been placed in jobs so far. Thank you so much for answering their prayers. Lord at this time, I ask that you to allow the Holy Spirit to work on their hearts so that they know, that it was you who answered their prayers and all praise and honor goes to you O Lord. And I pray Lord that you guide me and lead me to help others no matter how small it may be. I may not be able to make a difference to every single unemployed person who needs to have a relationship with Jesus, but to those that I can reach, and can help, to them, it will make a big difference.

Praise the Lord!

For those of you who have turned to me for help, just know that it’s not by my will, but God’s will be done. Everything happens at the right time, so please be patient. The Lord is teaching you something even now. And I do pray that when your prayers are answered, that you remember who made it all possible. Until that great day comes, the Lord our Father in heaven will take of your every need.

Leave a Reply

